The Nominations Committee helps identify and evaluate candidates for elected office. The mission of the Nominations Committee is to assure a fair, inclusive, and expeditious process for identifying candidates for all EarthCube’s elected offices (i.e., the Leadership Council Chair, Leadership Council Members, Standing Committee Chairs, and Team Chairs).

To forward names for possible nomination for current elections, email

The Nominations Committee has three at-large members elected by the community who serve two-year terms.

Current Members:

  • D. Sarah Stamps (Virginia Tech)
  • Anna Kelbert (USGS)
  • Gelu Nita (New Jersey Institute of Technology)

For more information about the operations and duties of the Nominations Committee, please see section 4.2.1 of the EarthCube charter.